Here I am, sitting at home in Hammond, suffering through the coldest, snowiest period that we have had over the last few years. The last few winters certainly put me in a fools paradise. I haven’t shoveled so much or shivered so much in ages. The weather tonight doesn’t promise to be much better.

I’ve already shoveled three times this week. It seemed like I finally shoveled by the end of the day and in the morning, new blanket of snow waswaiting for me.

Now we have the cold. It’s not as cold as other times, but still, nothing is going to melt with the weather the way it is. Snow and cold, what a way to start the new year.

I’m sure it’s the same for everyone. At least I don’t work, so I don’t have to get out there. Yet, with the roads bad and icy (as I imagine they are), I can’t go out and see my Mom who is in a nursing home. I don’t want to take a chance of getting stuck somewhere. I’ll have to call the nursing home up and leave a message to Ma that I’m alright and will visit as soon as the weather breaks.

This is why I can’t wait for spring training and the start of the baseball season. When Spring Training comes along, I know the warm breezes of Summer can’t be far along.

And, I have a head cold, too.

