The streets of the Calumet Region are showing the effect of winter as the snow melts and the weather gets a little warmer. This is especially true of the side streets in Hammond. I had to travel o few of them over the last few days and found a few big potholes.

This is especially true around Baltimore and Torrence Avenue and 139 th Street. One pothole back of the Olympic Bowling Alley is a real cruncher. I thought I would lose my tire on that one. The whole road that sags into 139th Street i littered with pot holes.

There are a few by the South Shore Tracks on Hohman Ave. getting bad. Past downtown on Hohman gets better,but North Hammond is fairly bad right now.

I hope it get better as spring comes and the money from the stimulus plan get down to Hammond. It would be a start in saving and building up jobs.